Divisions are used for counting those in favour or against a motion when there is a vote in the House of Commons or the House of Lords. The House literally divides, with members choosing to file through one of two lobbies on either side of the Chamber where they are counted and their names recorded.

Hover mouse over each constituency hexagon to see the name of the constituency, the MP, the party they belong to and the number of divisions voted in.

The colours of hexagons correspond to the number of divisions voted in by the MP/s for that constituency - the lighter the colour, the more divisions the Member has voted in.

Black hexagons indicate constituencies where the MP has not voted in any divisions.

There are many legitimate reasons why a MP may not vote in a division.

To find out more about divisions in the Commons, this background paper from the Commons Library is a great primer on the subject

This is a personal project, made in my own time. If you have any questions or feedback about this map, please let me know at @philbgorman

Scale: plasma